Friday, December 31, 2010

Last Day of the Year

Gosh that title sucks but I couldn't think of a better one so whatever.

So, I didn't really want to post today, because if I didn't post, I would have 69 posts in 2010. But, I had to, because it's the last day of the year, and I usually post on the last day of the year. So, I'll just have to have 70. What a drag.

Okay, I could go on and on about how time flies sooo fast and how wow, it's already gonna be 2011, and it's been another year, and blahblahblah, which is all true, and no less amazing, but that's kinda what I always talk about, so I'm gonna skip all that. Instead I'm gonna go on and on about other stuff. Just wait and lemme think of what that stuff is okay?

You know, I enjoy being not an adult. Because, when you're an adult you're pretty much the same all the time. I mean, obviously when you're an adult you can still change as a person, but when you're a kid or a teenager you do it all the time. Constantly. Like for real, do you know how much I've changed in the past year? I'm like a totally different person. And also, what I've noticed, is since high school started, I'm more myself. Like, in elementary school I was super weird and did weird stuff but I was also awesome because I was really creative and always starting new stuff and I had a ton of ideas, like for instance the school newspaper, that was awesome, and I started it! But then when I got to middle school I kinda mellowed a lot, without trying to or thinking about it, it was like a subconscious thing, but I was less of myself and I conformed a lot, because that's what middle school is, you want to be like everybody else and fit in. BUT don't get me wrong, I definitely still wasn't like everybody else in middle school, I was just closer to it, because in grade school I was wayy out there, and then I kinda got closer to what everybody else was, but I was still pretty weird. And now that I'm in high school I'm getting way out there again. And it's not really a bad thing, as long as you're not like over the top crazy wanting attention being stupid, but if you're different that's a good thing, right? Which is what I didn't realize in middle school. Because in middle school they had all the 'popular' people (I didn't really want to use that term because it's such a cliche, but there isn't really another term for it), and even though it wasn't a conscious thing, I wanted to be with the popular people, you know, like everybody wants to be with that crowd, and you want them to like you and be part of that group. Like even if I wasn't consciously trying to be part of the little group or whatever, it was still something that I wanted. But now, I have no desire whatsoever to be popular or even associated with them, because honestly, that group of people in our grade is really immature. Like if you consider yourself one of the 'popular' people, you guys know that group in our grade that I'm talking about right? Yeah, they're really annoying because they think that that group of people is so much better than everybody else, and they still judge people based on who they're friends with and who they talk to and what they do outside of school and blahblahblah, and it's soo...middle school. It's like, honestly, be more mature. Like I look at the seniors in our school and I seriously don't see a group of popular people, it's just everybody likes everybody and is friends with everybody, and I don't think our grade is ever gonna get to that point, which is why I don't like our grade, because they're so unable to be mature! It drives me crazy! That's one of the reasons why I like band so much, because it's all grades and all different types of people but they're all in band and they all talk to each other and are friends and it's really fun. Okay, I really got off the point of what I was gonna say. Wow. There I went again with a crazy rant. I'll stop. What I was GONNA say is that now that I'm in high school I'm starting to be myself again, like my real self, and it's kinda fun. I forgot what I used to be like in elementary school, and I was way more fun in elementary school. I kinda sucked in middle school. Why did you people not tell me that? Gosh kids are way better than preteens. And teenagers (I mean they're better), because they're super fun and full of crazy random ideas. Like if you told a middle schooler that you want to build an igloo, they'd be like, that's dumb. But if you told like a senior or a junior that you wanted to build an igloo, they'd be like, awesome let's do it! Except our grade is still stuck in the middle school phase and it's driving me crazy. There we go. That's what I was trying to say when I got all off topic. Yeah. Yeah. I think my point was, being mature isn't about not being a kid and acting grown up and not doing kid stuff. Being mature is being able to know the kind of person you are and what you want to do and then doing it and not caring what other people think of it, just doing it because that's what you want to do. Except you have to be able to know the difference between having fun and crossing the line, because if your idea of fun is throwing chunks of ice at cars on the highway, then you're not mature just because that's what you want to do and you don't care what people think of it. But I'm not gonna get into that part of it because that's gonna be another ten minutes of writing. So just, do you get what I'm trying to say? Yeah, and then back to me, what I was gonna say is I'm glad that I'm not a middle schooler anymore, and not only that but that I don't have the mind of a middle schooler either, because now I can consider myself mature by that definition, because I honestly completely stopped caring what people think of what I do. Completely. And it makes life way more fun because I'm not as held back by other people. I can do whatever and I don't worry that people are gonna think I'm weird or whatever, because chances are they are gonna think I'm weird, but good for them, I don't care. So it's funner to not care what people think. EXCEPT you have to realize that when I say you shouldn't care what people think it doesn't mean you should be a jerk because you don't care what people think of you. You should care if people think you're a bad person, because that's totally not what I meant. There's a line between not caring what people's opinions of you are, and not caring if everybody hates you. Okay? Get what I'm saying? Good.

And by the way, I'm not trying to be like deep or whatever. I'm just saying the first things that come to my mind cuz this is what I think and yeah. So don't laugh at me because you think I'm trying to be deep and profound and blahblahblah. Cuz I'm totally not. I'm just saying stuff. Anyway, this is a super long post and it doesn't really have to do with the end of the year, but whatever I don't care.

Happy New Year!
Holy crap it's gonna be 2011 tomorrow. I should stop now before I get into the "wow time flies" thing because I am seriously weirded out right now. Um, yeah, so, bye, and happy 2011 craziness to you.

4 comments:

12 purple roses said...

jennifer,, grrr.

jennjeanne said...

hahahaha why just me? i started commenting before but i got distracted. ok yeah i agree with this cause in elementry school we were like who cares if people think im crazy that's just too bad. like do you remember in 4th grade when i danced to cotton eye joe in front of the whole class? that was great. but in middle school we were all like im doing this unless everyone else does too. now in high school it's kinda like screw it if people are gonna think you're crazy whatever cause that's funner anyway (yes funner). like i think i randomly talk to people more cause its like whatever you know? i would definitely say its an improvement. ok that should be enough input for you.

12 purple roses said...

hahahahaha no i dont remember anything about you dancing to cotton eye joe but okayyy. yepppppp seeee you understand!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thats why i love high school! its like elementary school, but we're not children anymore so they trust us more and we can do more stuff! its amazing. i love it so much.

Anonymous said...

First grade to 7th grade was terrible. I hated it. I loved eighth grade. Seriously. The BEST year of my life. I had a ton of friends, even an almost-boyfriend. Now I'm in ninth grade, and I'm freaking depressed. There is almost nothing I wouldn't do to get eighth grade back.