Saturday, July 30, 2011

Tips. And Other Orders Of Business.

So, working in a restaurant, of course, you get tips from time to time. And the way it works at our particular restaurant is that when you receive a tip in any form, you put it in the tip jar, to be distributed equally later. (Or almost equally. Mamun tends to give me a little more than him usually, and Mario tends to take the bigger half for himself.) On a good day, I'll end up with four or five, sometimes even six dollars. Other days it's only fifty cents or a dollar. Anyway, it adds up nicely, and since I save every cent of my paychecks, I use my tip money for fun things, like movies and Taco Bell. It's not a ton of money, but I can live with it. Okay, now if you're a delivery person, you don't have to deposit your tips in the tip jar, and you get a tip every time, with the amount, of course, varying according to the size of the order. And I hear Erik and Mitch complaining, every day, about how 'this guy only gave me a six dollar tip, and his order was like sixty dollars!' or 'I've been getting two dollar tips all day, this sucks.' Which seems like a small tip, but what you don't realize is these guys a) work much longer than me and therefore b) make anywhere from seven to twenty-five deliveries a day. And usually at the end of the day they leave with fifty to eighty dollars, sometimes even more. It's ridiculous, because this is in addition to their salary, which, at $7.00 an hour, is lower than mine (because it can be below minimum wage for any position that receives substantial amounts in tips that eventually make up the difference), but like I said, they also work much longer (except Mitch who's still the newb) and therefore get much more (granted, they are in their twenties, and this job is their living). But still. Anyway, my point is, if I had a car, I would definitely be a delivery person, because they get ridiculous amounts of money in tips. Daily.

I used to have other orders of business, but I forgot them or else they're just not that important and I no longer feel like writing about them, so I believe I'm done now.

2 comments:

jennjeanne said...

then save for a car

raisa said...

nah cuz those are way to expensive with gas and insurance and crap. i'll wait for my parents to get me one.