Sunday, October 23, 2011

Increasing Frustration

I think it must be hormones or something, but lately my emotions have been like forty times stronger than normal. Like, I don't cry, right? No. I don't cry. It's just a fact of life. But lately I've cried at like everything. It's frickin weird man. And when I'm angry, I'm really, really angry. Also, things that I didn't used to care about or was able to handle set me off way more. Like stupid things make me cry and equally stupid things that most people can get over make me extremely angry. It's not that I'm more sensitive, because I can still handle things better than the average teenager, it's just that I tend to care about things way more than most people. Which I think for now is a good thing. Because people just don't even care about anything anymore. I care about a ton of stuff. Not school though. I honestly think that school is less of a priority than people make it. I mean I understand that it's important to your future and whatnot, but seriously, how important is it to the world that I do this math assignment or whatever? No, I'm better off enjoying life during the few moments when I can. I don't wanna look back and see that I wasted my teenage years with my nose to grindstone. There's no point in using an entire period of time just to prepare for another period of time (ie; college). That whole live in the moment thing? Everybody says they just loooove to live life to the fullest and blahdiblah, but how many of them are actually doing it? None. Yes, it is extremely important to be educated. I'm the first person to say that; I can't stand ignorance. But you also need to just do things. Just go out there and experience the world. I'm not gonna come home and spend every second of the afternoon doing chemistry homework and miss the sun and the leaves and the colors, because fall is my favorite season and enjoying it is a priority, whether other people think it should be or not. I mean, is that what life is about? Always working towards the next step? I work to get good grades so I can get into college so I can get a good job so I can provide for my family so they can be successful and then it's just a big chain. What comes in between? I'm not gonna be fifteen forever. I'll be eighteen before I know it and then I'll go to college and have responsibilities and life is just gonna get harder from here. I thoroughly enjoy being a teenager and I'm not gonna miss it. Anyway, what I'm trying to say is that while school is really important, it's not important enough to get in the way of my enjoyment of this moment, right now. Okay?

7 comments:

Anonymous said...

No. College and middle school and elementary school and retirement are for relaxing and enjoying. Everything else is to work to make those more comfortable, for either yourself or your children. That's the American Dream. People die trying to enter this bloody country to achieve this dream. Others check out of this stuff and end up cynical and alone. It's a vicious cycle, but so much better than it could potentially be. Enjoy it while you can- it doesn't last that long...

Anonymous said...

That comment took effort. I expect a response. Grr.

Ramen said...

Join us or forever hold your peace.

raisa said...

what the heckkk^^^^^ ramen? anyway yeah meaghan i'm not sure i really understood your comment. my point was i *am* enjoying life while i can. and 'college and middle school and elementary school and retirement are for enjoying and everyting else is for making it more comfortable'=no. that's what i'm saying. i dont spend entire periods of my life working solely (is that even how you spell that) for a different part of my life cuz what if i die right in the middle? then i worked a crapload and didnt even get to the enjoyment part.

12 purple roses said...

LOLOLOL ramen is from flying spaghetti monster.

jennjeanne said...

yeah i agree even if this might be aimed at me but i don't only work. that's why i'm not in AP classes cause i know i could do them if i wanted to do but i don't want stress and work if i can avoid it. plus i'm not really that concerned about college becuase i know that i'll get into one of them cause come on if the stupid slacker kids can get into college so can i but that doesn't mean you should slack off just because you can. you should still try to do as well as you can in school because otherwise you're just dumbing yourself down.

raisa said...

yeah that makes sense but thats cuz youre not in ap classes which you make up for by doing well. i *am* in ap classes so i have a crapload of work so if i did all the work possible for all of my classes i would die. so i make up for it by diong the bare minimum. and it was kinda aimed at you but mostly just people in general who yell at me for not doing a crapload of work