Wednesday, August 31, 2011

2012: It's Coming

I used to think the idea of the world ending in 2012 was ridiculous. I mean, seriously, the Mayan calendar ends which means we're all going to die? Yeah, okay, whatever you say Crazy. But now, I see it differently. The Mayans were obviously some sort of super-advanced voodoo alien tribe that came from another planet, foresaw the end of our planet, made a civilization here with extremely advanced pyramids and rituals, and then left well before anything disastrous could happen. That is obviously the truth; I don't know how I could have missed it before.
And since they're a super-advanced voodoo alien tribe from another planet and are right about the world ending, that mean's we've got less than a year and four months until civilization as we know it comes to an end. So be prepared, people. I don't know if it'll be a zombie apocalypse, but it wouldn't hurt to have weapons handy anyway. Might as well have them in case the dinosuars or some mutant alien beasts come a-knocking, or something similar and equally dangerous. Also, have a deep subterranean cellar installed, and reinforce your house with steel and titanium. Oh, and you might want to add lead to that list as well, in case there's some nuclear mishap along with the general chaos and mayhem. A boat might also be useful in case of a flood, although I don't think a flood is likely because God specifically said he wouldn't pull that one again. Finally, don't forget the most important and most basic items: food, emergency water, first aid, etc. Think through each step of the armageddon and prepare yourself accordingly. Will you need a tent? A flashlight? The power is apt to go out with all the madness and no one around to keep it running. Also, if you're not a fan of living rough, I'd think about a very large supply of toilet paper. You can never be too prepared, and remember, we don't know what's gonna happen, so think of everything.
Now, if for some reason you don't believe in the coming armageddon, it shouldn't be too hard to convince you. I mean, it's already started. You want a list of all the major disasters, natural and otherwise, that have happened in the past few years and are still happening now? Here you go (it's not in exact order):
  • the tsunami in Thailand
  • the earthquake in Haiti and the one in Chile a week later
  • the flooding in Australia
  • the earthquake in New Zealand
  • the earthquake and tsunami in Japan
  • the tornadoes in the South
  • the rebellions in the Middle East
  • Hurricane Irene
  • the earthquake on the East Coast- keep in mind that the east coast doesn't usually get earthquakes
  • lots and lots of other, smaller disasters over the past few years
SO. If that's not enough to convince you, then you can just stay unprepared until December 21st, 2012, and end up dying just like the rest of the world.

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Thirteen Days of Freedom Remain

Put another X on the calendar, summer's on its deathbed. There is simply nothing worse than knowing how it ends.

And in this case, it ends in school, so I'd say that's a fair statement. That's a song, by Panic! At the Disco, and that part's been in my head for the past few days and most likely will be in it for the next two weeks. I mean, I'm excited for school, very excited, especially with all the schooly things that have been going on that add to the excitment. I'm just not excited for my classes. Two AP classes and English X and Precalc. If you say Precalc it doesn't sound as scary, but I shiver with nervousness if I say Precalculus with Trigonometry. It had better be like Geometry and not Algebra. I honestly don't know how I've passed two Algebra classes. I don't remember any of it.

So, orientation was today, and my locker is in the middle of everything, which is quite annoying. Also I have a meeting with the counselor tomorrow because I have to figure out what the deal is with gym; right now there's just an empty spot in my schedule. Then I have to finish my English homework, which luckily I have made considerable progress on and shouldn't be that hard to complete, buy new shoes, and buy a backpack, and I should be ready for school. I got my picture taken even though I'm gonna get retakes because of my braces, and I realize now that that picture is going to go on my student ID, so it's a good thing I actually attempted to look semi decent and didn't wear the ponytail and crappy tshirt that I originally planned to wear.

Okay so band has begun, and it's fun, but I have a lot to do with band, work, and my homework, and I end up with pretty much zero freetime. I finished my outline for English yesterday and decided that today is a break day so that's why I'm not currently doing homework. So much to do. I need my frickin planner so I can write it all down, but noooo, there's no August, so the planner is useless. USELESS. Anyway, adios.

Friday, August 19, 2011

BAND JOY

Band, band, band, band, band, bandddd, yay bandddd. That's a song. It expresses my excitement that band is starting very soon, and also my complete and utter JOY that I have actually managed to convince ANOTHER MEMBER to join. I never actually thought it would happen. I am so greatly excited. And I better be in the drumline. I think I will. I mean, the only other people that play snare that are above me in both age and skill level are Cassidy, Jessica, and Blake. Dan (Peterjohn) plays quads and those are the only other percussionists in Symphonic Winds. He said four or six drummers. There are three above, and the only person I can think of that would replace me is Stephanie Callaghan, and she wasn't in band last year so that's an automatic Varsity Band. I mean she played for the parade but that's only because Blake wasn't there, and I played for the parade too so I don't see why I wouldn't be in the drumline. I think I will. I hope I will. Because I most definitely don't want to play bass drum, and I most definitely definitely don't want to be in pit, and quads would be fun but I'm obviously not going to play those. Oh gosh. I just realized that I will be missing a fair amount of band for work. So what if I miss a lot and then I don't know the routine and he makes me be in pit? Actually no I don't think there will be a routine for the September 2nd game, so it's all good. I won't miss the morning practices, so I'll know the important routines. I can't see myself playing anything other than snare, cuz I mean that's what I do. Although this year in regular band it's gonna be different because Jessica Anderson is a really really good drummer and she will in most cases be playing snare instead of me. I'll probably be stuck playing mallets. Which in most cases is not terrible. But still. Oh well. My time will come. Anyway. Spat camp on Monday! Yay!

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Fall

I like summer, a lot. I mean, there's no school, no worries, no obligations. You can wander around in bare feet and forget to eat lunch and stay up til whenever and sleep til whenever and you don't even have to know what time it is. We like summer. Summer is good, and we don't want it to end. But it's going to, just like it does every year, and fall will come, and with it, school. And while I don't want summer to end, I gotta admit that, like every year, I'm excited for school. But more than being excited for actual school, I'm excited for the season of fall. Because fall is my favorite season, for the following reasons:

  • bonfires. i know you can have bonfires in the summer, but there really is nothing like a fall bonfire, where you actually have to keep close to the fire to stay warm, and there aren't as many mosquitoes making you wish you were dead rather than being eaten alive.
  • new clothes! i'm a loser. i know. but who doesn't get excited for their back-to-school shopping, and even more than that, when school starts so you can actually wear your purchases?
  • sweaters. this is kinda like the new clothes one, but i decided that sweaters deserve their own bullet point because sweaters are so comfortable and fun to wear, especially in the fall. i enjoy sweaters. greatly.
  • football games. although this year the majority of my football game experiences will be from a marching band point of view, they're still fun and part of fall and basically awesome.
  • homecoming. parade+game+dance=fun fun fun. especially the dance, cuz you can dress up and go out and dance. and maybe enjoy the company of a date. perhaps.
  • halloween. whether you're still trick-or-treating, or going to parties, or both, it's still fun to dress up and eat candy and other foods. and also watch scary movies and be scared.
  • leaf piles! yay! raking is not so fun, but definitely worth it, cuz when you're done you have a giant pile of leaves for to jump into. plus, all the different colored trees are pretty.
  • nice weather. the thing about fall is that it's sunny and warm, but not unbearably hot and humid like summer. i love it so much.
  • apple orchards. i haven't gone to an apple orchard for the past couple of years, but we should DEFS go to one this year because hay rides and apples= fun. except wait until after i get my braces off so that i can eat them. which reminds me...
  • TEETH. as in, braceless teeth. because on a date (that i am trying to change) in september i will have my braces thoroughly removed from my teeth, and from then on braces will be for Other People again, just like they always have been.
okay. if this isn't enough to convince you that fall is a fun season, then sorry. but it is. you will see when we get there. which is in...seventeen days. well, seventeen days til september. i dont really know what day school starts. i might want to look that one up.

Monday, August 8, 2011

A Girl's REAL Best Friend.

I realize that I got the idea from Jennifer's blog, but whatever deal with it. Anyway, most of the girls that I know couldn't care less about stupid diamonds. Here's a list of things that make up the life of the average teenage girl, some magically wonderful, others dreadfully awful. Let's begin.

  • first of all, i know it's a cliche, but chocolate. maybe it's not just a girl thing, but either way, i don't know a girl that can live without chocolate in some form.
  • disney movies. even if some girls won't admit it, i know that no teenage girl can resist a classic 90's disney movie. it reminds you of childhood, and you can relate, because a lot of the female characters in disney movies are about the age we are now, and best of all, you can sing along. there is no problem that a teenage girl can have, that a disney movie won't be able to help with, at least temporarily.
  • bloody hell. if you want to know what this is, look on iwastesomuchtime. theyll explain it.
  • shopping. man shopping is such a stress reliever. you can be having the worst day, and then you go to the mall and everything is better. i mean, they always say you can relieve stress by exercising, and you exercise by walking around the mall, and then you go to the mall and see an awesome shirt or whatever, and you try it on and it fits, and you buy it and bam, your mood is better. not to mention all the awesome food they have at the mall. you can't go wrong there. you can't.
  • magazines. again, as much as some people wouldn't like to admit it, we all need some kind of advice from somewhere, and magazines provide just that. even if they are extremely stupid sometimes, they have some pretty helpful tips occasionally.
  • friends. i realize that everybody needs friends, no matter what age or gender you are, but i don't think there's anyone who needs friends more than a teenage girl. who else would we go everywhere with, tell everything to, stalk people with, or text incessantly?
  • music. music can be such a mood changer, and theres no one who has bigger mood swings than teenage girls (well, besides pregnant women maybe). so what better way to wallow in self-pity, proclaim your joy to the heavens, or doom the universe with your anger than with a song?
  • makeup. now, i don't really wear makeup, but i know that almost every teenage girl wears some kind of makeup to some degree. and when i said makeup, what i really meant was beauty products. because what teenage girl doesn't get excited over colorful nail polish, new mascara, awesome smelling spray, or sparkly lip gloss? don't lie, you know you do.
  • boys. people always think boys are nasty and perverted, but what they don't realize is that girls probably think about guys just as much as guys think about girls (although admittedly in a less vulgar way). i mean, you know when you meet a guy, anywhere, anytime, you instantly decide how attractive he is and whether he'd be dateable material, regardless of the actual chances of that happening. man i know you all do that, so don't even try to lie. we all like guys.
anyway, there are obviously a lot more things that make up people's lives, but this just gives you an idea. girls, i have to say, are awesome. i am quite glad i'm not a guy.

Tuesday, August 2, 2011

This Is What I Did When I Got Home From Driver's Ed

Let me first start off this post by saying that both of you are currently out of town, and therefore have not read the previous couple of posts, so be sure to do that. And remember, it doesn't count as reading unless you comment, so BE SURE TO DO THAT AS WELL.

Anway, this is a detailed log of everything I did from when I got home from driver's ed at around noon today, until around 1:10. It was only me and Lydia that were home.

First I went up the stairs. Then I kicked my shoes off down the stairs. Then I went back down the stairs to put my bag on the steps. Then I went up the stairs. Then I went to the bathroom. Lydia had her music on loud so I sang while I was in the bathroom. It was Closer by Ne-Yo. Then I went into Lydia's room and laid on her floor. Then I changed the song she was listening to because it sucked. Then I looked at her desk. Then I picked up an empty container of Altoids and threw it at her. Then I picked up a weird ring-shaped something and spun it around on my finger. Then I changed the music again. Then I laid on the floor again and sang. Loudly. Then I went into the living room and started reading the newspaper. Then I went into the kitchen and sang loudly. The I got a pad of paper. Then I got a pen. Then I sat down on a chair in the dining room. Then I started writing down everything I did. Then I went into the kitchen and Lydia was there. I hit her with my pen. Paper Planes by MIA was playing in Lydia's room and the CD was skipping so I started singing "everyone's a winner" over and over. Then I opened the fridge and looked for food. I didn't find any so I closed the fridge. Then ten seconds later I opened it again and stared inside for awhile. I danced while I stared. Then Lydia brought a microphone out to me and showed me that it was broken. I screwed the top back on and it was fixed. Then I went into the hallway and turned on the light. Then I danced in front of the closet while I looked for food there too. I saw some bottles of root beer on the floor in there and started to rejoice excitedly because we rarely have root beer and we rarely have plain vanilla ice cream and we never have both but by some miracle we did today. I went to the kitchen and got some vanilla ice cream out of the freezer. Then I went to the cupboard. I selected a glass, then decided against it and selected a mug. I opened the silverware drawer but there were no spoons, so I got a spoon from the dishwasher. I opened the ice cream carton and spooned some ice cream into the mug. Then I picked up the bottle of root beer, but I realized it was warm so I put it in the fridge. Then I put the mug of ice cream in the freezer and put the carton away. I put the spoon in the sink. Then i rinsed the ice cream off my hands.Then Potential Breakup Song was playing in Lydia's room, so we both sang loudly. Then Lydia asked me how I got home from driver's ed because usually my mom is the one that drives us home, but today she was at work. I told her that I walked and she was incredulous, until I told her that it was a lie and Louisse's brother drove me. Then I opened the fridge and selected some turkey and cheese. Then I searched for some bread and eventually found some on the kitchen table. Then I looked for the cheese cutter for a long time before giving up and getting a knife. Then I complained to Lydia about how irritating it was to have to stop every few seconds to write down what I just did on the pad of paper that I was now keeping in my back pocket. Then I danced around for awhile, and reminisced to Lydia about how at homecoming no one really danced, just jumped. Then I jumped to show her what I meant. Then I went into Lydia's room and turned off her CD player because her music sucked and said that if we were going to listen to sucky music, we might as well listen to loud sucky music. Then I turned the radio in the living room on to KDWB, and promptly complained about the crap music that was playing. Then I poked Lydia with my pen on my way to the kitchen. Then I sliced some cheese. It was difficult to slice the cheese with a knife but I did it anyway. Then I put the cheese on the bread and then put some turkey on. Then I put the second piece of bread on, and buttered the top of it so it didn't stick to the griller, then I put it in the sandwich griller. Then I grabbed a plate from the cupboard. Then I looked through the multitude of chip varieties that we have in our house currently, and finally decided on Cool Ranch Doritos. Then Lydia showed me a plastic thing she made in Industrial Tech that she was going to throw away, and I used my pen to draw a Deathly Hallows sign on it before she did. Then the radio started talking about Twilight, so me and Lydia screamed simultaneously. I stomped to the radio and changed it to 96.3. The song that was playing on 96.3 sucked immensely, so I gave up on trying to listen to hit stations and turned it to The Current. Then I went to the kitchen again. I put some Doritos on my plate. Then I got a glass, retrieved the milk from the fridge, and poured some in the glass. I put the glass near the plate. Then I got some carrots from the fridge and put those on my plate again. Then I opened the sandwich griller to see if my sandwich was done. It wasn't. Then I went to Lydia's room. There was a stirring stick to stir paint with in her room, because she's painting her room, and I used my pen to write your mom on it. Then I threw the stick across her room. Lydia was confused. Then I walked/danced in slow motion down the hallway. Then Lydia said I was weird so I gave her a look. Then I checked to see if my sandwich was done again, and it was, so I unplugged the sandwich griller and quickly put the sandwich on my plate, quickly because it was really hot. Then I sat down at the table. Then I was lonely, so I picked up my plate and glass and napkin and brought it into the living room. Then I danced in slow motion again. Then I just plain danced, while sitting on the couch. Then I took some bites of my sandwich. Then Lydia was looking at a picture of Gabrielle Giffords the lady who got shot. She said that Giffords should grow her hair out because she looks weird with out it. I said that she just got shot in the head so of course she looks weird. Then Lydia said then why didn't she die. I had just taken a bite of my sandwich so I just shrugged because how am I supposed to know. Then I ate some Doritos. The water from the carrots must have gotten on them, because they were kind of wet and also very disgusting, and at that point I remembered why I didn't eat Cool Ranch Doritos before, which is because they're disgusting. I pointed to Lydia and then to the Doritos to ask if she wanted some, but she didn't really know what I was doing so I just asked her, and she said no. Then I licked some melted cheese off of my thumb. There was a Reader's Digest sitting on the coffee table, so I started reading an article about Sigourney Weaver, who always creeped me out, ever since she was such a creep in Baby Mama. I continued to eat Doritos while I did this, because I hate wasting food. Then I finished the article, which I mostly just skimmed anyway, and there was an article about this guy who got into a skiing accident or something, and it looked boring, so I stopped reading the magazine. Then I took my napkin, which was made of cloth, and whipped Lydia with it. Then I whipped her five more times. Then Lydia took my napkin, which at first I was confused about, but I now realize it was because I was whipping her with it. Then I wrested it back from her. Then I ate the carrots on my plate. Then I danced some more. Then the phone rang. I yelled at Lydia to turn the music down, which it took her a long time to do, for some reason. Then I answered the phone. It was my dad. He asked me what I was doing and I said eating lunch, then he asked me if my mom had called and I said no, and then I said bye and he said bye and I hung up the phone. Then I ate my sandwich some more. Then I dropped the very last bite. Then I picked it up. Then I ate it. Then Lydia was yelling at me from her room to come and help her. I pretended not to hear her. Then I drank the last of my milk. Then I breathed deeply. Then I brought my plate and glass and napkin into the kitchen. Then I put the chips away. Then Lydia called me again so I reluctantly went to see what it was that she wanted. On the way, I burped, which I don't normally do. Then I helped Lydia put this dresser shelf thing on top of her desk in the hallway, so that she would have room to paint later. Then I went into the kitchen and got the root beer out of the fridge and also the mug of ice cream. Then I poured some root beer on the ice cream. Then I tried to write what I did, but my pen ran out of ink. I went to the dining room to get a new one and I had to try four of them to find one that works. Then I decided that I didn't have enough ice cream in my mug, so I opened the freezer and got out the ice cream. Then I realized that I put the spoon in the sink, so I needed a new one. I looked in the silverware drawer again even though I knew there would be no spoons, and there were none, so I got one from the dishwasher again. Then I put more ice cream in my mug. Then I put the ice cream away and washed the ice cream off my hands again. Then I poured some more root beer on the ice cream. Then I was about to write what I did, but decided that I was done. So I stopped.

Monday, August 1, 2011

melange

I'd walk through Hell for you, let it burn right through my shoes, these soles are useless without you, through Hell, for you, let the torturing ensue, my soul is useless without you. And if they send a whirlwind, I'd hug it, like a harmless little dream. Or an earthquake, I'd calm it, and I'd bring you back to me. And I'd hold you in my weak arms, like a firstborn. I'd walk through Hell for you, let it burn right through my shoes, these soles are useless without you, through Hell for you, let the torturing ensue, my soul is useless with ut you. Now I've walked through Hell for you, what's an adventurer to do, but rest these feet at home with you.

That song's by Say Anything, for your information. The Alive with the Glory of Love people.

My three wishes:
1. A magic marker that never runs out of ink, where whatever I draw comes to life.
2. End world hunger.
3. Undecided at the current time.

My bucket list, as of now: (it's really short right now, but it's going to get really long, just watch)
1. Go whitewater rafting.
2. Go ziplining.
3. Go on a rollercoaster that ranks as fastest, steepest, or tallest, etc, in the world.
4. Go to all 50 states.
5. Go to all 7 continents.
6. Go to all the countries in the G20 (if not more than that.)
7. Change someone's life.
8. Become acquaintances with an A-list celebrity.
9. See the President.
10. Become fluent in at least 3 languages.


Some songs/bands/types of music that I'm currently obsessed with: Panic! at the Disco, Wrock, Howlin For You and also Everlasting Light by The Black Keys, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 and 2 soundtracks, Disney music.

My nails are coral.

In two weeks and four days I'll be receiving roughly $250, all of which will be spent on clothes for school.

My current To-Do List/schedule for the month of August:
  • check out and read The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens
  • check out and read My Antonia and West With The Night
  • do English homework
  • study for gym
  • go running at least three more times
  • eat healthier foods (namely fewer potato chips and more...carrots.)
  • be less lazy (the last three are so I can get at least a little in shape and pass that stupid gym test.)
  • two weeks of spat camp
  • go shopping for school clothes
  • go shopping for school supplies
  • work
  • orientation
  • take gym test
  • figure out final schedule for school
  • band orientation
  • [at band orientation] discuss with Mr. Swanson how I'm gonna hafta miss lots of spat camp for work
  • get permit
Yeah, I gots a lots to do.

In case you were wondering, melange means a mixture or just like a mix of things. In French. There should be an accent on the first e. Anyway I gotta go to work so bye.