Thursday, September 29, 2011

Youth In Revolt

My playlist of songs that make you proud to be a teenager:

  1. MGMT- Kids
  2. My Chemical Romance- Na Na Na
  3. Metronomy- A Thing For Me
  4. 30 Seconds To Mars- Kings and Queens
  5. Mick Jagger- Primitive Cool
  6. Fall Out Boy- I Don't Care
  7. Sleigh Bells- Infinity Guitars
  8. We The Kings- Check Yes Juliet
  9.  Billy Boy On Poison- On My Way
  10. MGMT- Boogie Down
  11. Sleigh Bells- Crown on the Ground
  12. Kid Cudi ft. MGMT- Pursuit of Happiness
  13. Peter Bjorn & John- Young Folks
  14. Arctic Monkeys- Flourescent Adolescent
  15. Cash Cash- Forever Young
  16. Boys Like Girls- The Great Escape
  17. Panic! At the Disco- Let's Kill Tonight
  18. Eatmewhileimhot!- Mother May I
  19. Panic! At the Disco- Lying Is The Most Fun A Girl Can Have Without Taking Her Clothes Off
  20. Meat Loaf- Paradise by the Dashboard Light
  21. Panic! At the Disco- Nine in the Afternoon
  22. Sleigh Bells- Rill Rill
  23. Peter Bjorn & John- Nothing To Worry About
  24. Panic! At the Disco- The Only Difference Between Martyrdom And Suicide Is Press Coverage
  25. Fall Out Boy- Dance Dance
  26. Sleigh Bells- Riot Rhythm
  27. MGMT- We Care
  28. My Chemical Romance- Teenagers

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

#Twitter and Homecoming

So, I couldn't give in to making a facebook because that's just..no. Just no. But I did make a twitter, and at first I didn't get it and I was bored with it so I ignored it for like two weeks, but today I actually went on it and kinda figured it out a little. That number sign thing? It's called a hashtag. Yeah I learned that. Anyway yeah there are some annoying people but I think I'm just gonna avoid them. I'll get the hang of it I think. I hope. Cuz right now I'm a supernewb. That's one word.

Okay, homecomingg. I'm excited, but so far homecoming week has been kind of pathetic. Like, comfy day, okay, yeah, whatever, and then movie star day, like what is that, no one's gonna dress up for that, and today was black out day, which is easy, and still people don't dress up for that, and tomorrow is neon and people will most likely refuse to participate which is dumb, and Friday is spirit day which is fun I guess. But the most pathetic thing was definitely the pep fest. I mean seriously, like I've always loved pep fests, ever since sixth grade when we had this awesome pep fest with Vikings cheerleaders and everybody was totally into it, and that's what got me into pep fests cuz they're just frickin awesome. Even last year was better than this. Nobody was even into it, the stuff they tried to do to entertain us was a joke, and the only thing people cared about was the dance team's striptease sorry I mean dance. I mean honestly yeah, the dance was good and it was entertaining and it was actually really cool when they did the shirt thing, but it's just funny cuz seriously it was a legit striptease, like, they took off their shirts (even though they had shirts underneath.) But anyway, yeah it was pretty pathetic. Now I'm excited for Friday and our band extravaganza that lasts from after school until 9:30 at night. It'll be fun. We better win the effing game seriously. It's time to win. It's getting ridiculous. And then the dance which will be fun also, I'm super excited to dress up and whatnot.

Oh I almost forgot, braces off tomorrow! I'm really excited but it's super scary cuz they just yank them off which is frightening. And apparently the polishing is a nasty feeling. But it'll be over soonish and then I'll be back to braces being for other people! Which is the way it's supposed to be. Anyway I gotta study for history now so bye.

Sunday, September 18, 2011

I Really Love Fall and I'm Gonna Make Sure You Do Too

Reasons I love fall, with pictures to put you in the mood:

  • cozy sweaters. for some reason this year i love sweaters ever so much more than before. it's like a blanket you can wear. what's not to love?


  • bonfires. bonfires in the fall are ten times better than bonfires in the summer, because there's no mosquitoes, and you're cold, so you actually want to sit by the fire. or you can dance like these people.


  • leaf piles!!! raking them up is definitely worth jumping into the giant pile that you've created.


  • halloween. candy and costumes and being scared out of your pants. words can't describe how much i love it. also carving pumpkins. it's all just awesome. just, just awesome. i told you i can't describe it. plus, the halloween season comes jam-packed with halloween movies, and they can be scary like texas chainsaw massacre, or just awesome like hocus pocus.


<<<

  • football games! which also means band, and just plain old fun.
 yes, this is our school.

  • hot chocolate, apple pie, warm food.


  • homecoming! which is in 6 dayss whatup.
 i i like the awkward girl in blue.

  • apple orchards. possibly my favorite part.



here are some more pictures to make sure you get the message.










Sunday, September 11, 2011

School and Whatnot.

1st hour: AP US History, which isn't overly hard, but it's annoying because there's lots of reading and he hasn't really taught us anything so far, we just get it from the reading. The teacher's alright, but I don't really know yet because he hasn't done much. On the bright side, he gave us links to summaries of the book so now I can just read those instead of ten pages of textbook.

2nd hour: AP Chemistry. So far we've done three chapters in four days, and it's about four months' worth of chemistry from last year, which makes it really hard to remember all the stuff. I think I'm gonna struggle with this class, but hopefully if I pay attention it'll be better, plus the teacher is much better at explaining things than uh..last year's teacher. He's really chill and funny which is good.

3rd hour: Band. Band is band, it's fun and obviously I like it. The one downside is that most of the sophomores are in Varsity Band, so I don't have as many people to talk to. Hopefully when we start playing actual music it'll be really cool though, because the biggest reason I wanted to be in Symphonic Winds is they play really cool songs.

4th hour: English. Well English is usually my favorite schooly subject and it is this year too, especially since we have Ms. Etnier, cuz she is definitely my kind of teacher. I'm excited for this year. I'm also extremely excited for this creeper assignment. I think Ms. Etnier thinks the same way I do because so far that's pretty much how it's been.

5th hour: Precalc. Okay well I frickin hate math, and this Mr. Ronchak guy apparently really likes it, which could be a problem. I already found it extremely hard to pay attention in math, and now that I sit by Jennifer Meaghan and Sara it's proving to be even harder. I think we need to tone it down otherwise he's gonna move us, although honestly I think no matter where we are in the room our class is gonna be noisy, especially since Cassidy and Maheen are like our junior counterparts.

6th hour: Francais. I don't know how it happened, but french is not the class that I look forward to the most in the day. I'll be thinking like, it's almost french! And get super excited. It's basically the same as last year, although Madame seems a lot nicer. Maybe it's cuz we're used to her now, or else people have been talking less. Idk. Either way, french has somehow become very fun.

7th hour: Sociology. Okay the subject of this class is really interesting, but a lot of the people just took it to fill their schedules I think, so they don't really take it seriously, and then I take it seriously and they're like what a loser. Well not really, they mostly take it seriously, but idk there's like Alexa and Elizabeth and I don't like having those people in my class because who knows what they'll do. Plus it's hard to take them seriously. Anyway the teacher's really serious and likes to go on about her troubled past or whatever, and she treats the sophomores like we're little children that can't handle subjects like rape and racism, even though that's basically been the last two years of English X right there. 8th grade's main thing was racism and 9th grade was rape. So I don't know what this woman's talking about. The best thing about the class is we can bring our backpacks.

Marching band: So I was right in thinking that I definitely should've done marching band last year, but whatever, we're past that. I'm kind of disappointed that I have to be in pit, but whatever, I play snare for other stuff so I can get over it. I'm excited for the games cuz they're fun but I wish I could sit in the bleachers with the rest of the band.

Homecoming: So as far as the outfit, I still just need shoes. And also we need to figure out a plan for where we're going. It's Louisse's 16th birthday on homecoming and she wants to go to Benihana's so I think that's what's gonna happen. As far as a date...I'm working on it. I dunno. I gotta figure something out. I don't really want to go alone but I don't knowwww. The part of homecoming that I'm most excited for is the pepfest. Yay pepfest! Plus we get to play in it which is exciting also.

Okay basically that's it, I mean it's pretty much the same as last year except this year I have way more homework meaning I actually have to do it. It's ridiculous how much homework I get. I haven't had any free time during the day since school started.

Monday, September 5, 2011

I Have Egg on My Face

Let me begin my saying that I have had two very thoughtful, interesting posts in mind for the past couple days, but I've been busy and/or lazy and therefore never got around to posting them. I was going to post at least one of them now, but I lost interest and decided to just post about school and general nothingness instead.

So let me explain why I have egg on my face. Since today is the last day of summer, and also the Day Before School Starts, I decided that today is going to be a 'spa day' so that I can relax and 'fix' myself before school tomorrow, because when you look good, you feel good, and so I want to look good. (This is true for everybody right? I hope it's not just me. Like when you know you look crappy, you end up feeling crappy, and when you know you look good you feel good? It must be because I have issues with self-conciousness. I'm really, really self concious and so if I know that something about me doesn't look good then I'll keep messing with it and try to get it to look good and I'm really self concious, so by extension when all of me looks bad, all of me feels bad because I can't be myself because I'm too busy being self-concious. That's why I'm always playing with my hair. This happens to you, right?) Anyway, so it's a spa day, and I decided to look up homemade face masks on the internet. There were a lot of good ones, but I didn't have most of the ingredients, so I settled for one with egg yolks, lemon juice, and olive oil that is supposed to moisturize your skin, because for some reason my face has been very, very dry for the past few days even though it's usually never dry. Anyway, so I put it on, and you're supposed to leave it on for ten minutes, and I'm trying to forget about it because every time I think about the fact that I have a mashed up chicken embryo spread across my face, I gag a little. Except now it's dried and I can't move my face. This is interesting. I think it's been ten minutes, so lemme go wash it off...

Well, my skin is definitely less dry. It's a weird sensation having your whole face be stiff and then washing it off and having it slowly melt back to a flexible state. On the bright side, it worked. My skin was super dry and flaky and disgustingly nasty yesterday and I was like, what's going on, and now it's not like that. Except the corners of my mouth; for some reason they're super dry and also red so it looks like I smeared lipstick all over. I have to keep putting lotion there, which is difficult because it's so near to my mouth that I have to be careful not to eat it.

The one damper on what is supposed to be my refreshing, relaxing Day Before School Starts is that I have to work tonight, which will put a temporary stop to all my spa efforts. I still need to paint my fingers and toes. I can't decide on a color, but I think I'm gonna do that minty green color that I bought and still haven't used. I was going to save it for homecoming, but now I don't think it's going to look good with the dress. Which reminds me...

So yesterday I finally went shopping for a homecoming dress at MOA, which involved me driving to Bloomington, which was...a bit of an adventure. I mean, the actual driving was fine, I was on 494 and going 60/65 miles an hour and everything was totally fine, but then when I tried to park..that was the problem. So we were in the parking ramp, and  it was really really crowded, being the Mall of America and all, and I finally found a whole row of parking spots that were empty, and I was trying to park, but I didn't have a lot of space behind me because there were cars. Keep in mind that usually I can park just fine, okay? So my mom told me to get out so she could park, so I got out, but I didn't put the car in park because I thought she was going to get right in. So then after I got out it started rolling toward the wall ahead, and so I quick jumped in, but I wasn't all the way in, and hit what I thought was the brake. Unfortunately, it was the accelerator, and so the car zoomed forward (it was only two feet away from the wall though, so it wasn't like a huge distance) and smacked into the wall. I was surprised cuz my mom didn't really get mad, she just got into the car and parked it and then we examined the damage, and there wasn't any. So it was all good.

So this year when looking for a dress I basically did the exact same thing as last year, only minus the Ridgedale. I went to MOA thinking that since it was the biggest mall and had the most stores, I would definitely find a dress there. I even went through the same store pattern. First Macy's, which upon first skimming seemed to have a small selection of acceptable dresses, then Nordstrom, then other random stores in the mall that either my mom or I half-heartedly suggested in attempts to not make the trip a complete waste, and finally back to Macy's to scour the rack more thoroughly and less critically (as in the beginning I came with a very specific type and color dress in mind, and upon not finding had to broaden my horizons to include anything that I liked and fit and looked good on me.) However, I finally settled on two dresses at Macy's, which was a change from last year. One was a tank dress with a v-neck and v-back, with a subtle snakeskin design and covered in tiny gold and bronze sequins. The other was strapless and ballerina pink with pretty creases and folds at the bottom. I liked the first one much better, but it was both tighter and more expensive than the pink one, and so my mother decided against it. The pink one, for me, was a last resort, as I really, really didn't want to have to come shopping again next weekend and end up being really rushed. I liked it, but there were certain things about it that I didn't like, and despite what my mom and Lydia said to the contrary, I really didn't think it looked that good on me. Nevertheless, I bought it, and  with all the discounts we had at Macy's it ended up being $15, as opposed to the $69 that the other one was. We went to Von Maur on the way home just to see if there was anything better, and sure enough there was a dress that I really liked there. It's strapless and covered in larger sequins than the other dress was, and they're silver and gold and the dress isn't as tight and just generally looks better on me than the one I wanted at Macy's. I tried it on a bought it, and it was funny because my mom didn't want to buy the other dress for $69, but she bought this one and it ended up being $68. Interesting. Anyway the funny thing is is that both this year and last year, I went to MOA with big plans for getting a dress there, only to eventually end up getting the dress right here at EP. After getting the dress we decided to just look really quick at Payless, because it was there, and I found one pair of gold pumps that matched the dress well, but had six-inch heels. Six inches. I didn't really have a problem with that fact, until I realized that if I did manage to get a date, he would have to be extremely tall or else I would look like a giant next to him. So I decided against the shoes. I found another pair of gold shoes that were absolutely perfect for the dress, this time with straps and a much shorter four-inch heel, but my mom decided they were too expensive and that was the end of that; there wasn't much time for argument because I had to go to work. So I just need shoes and also a clutch and I should be set to go. The good thing about having the insanely sparkly dress is that I don't really need any jewelry unless I want to blind anyone within fifty feet of me.

Well, I'm off to paint my nails now, and watch some television before my day of relaxation gets interrupted by work. I'm super excited for school. Just think. In 24 hours we'll be at a barbecue with everyone from school. Isn't that exciting? It's exciting.